How Long Does a Divorce Take in Texas?
Divorce is no doubt something you’ll want to get wrapped up as soon as possible. South Dakota, Alaska, and Nevada offer some of the fastest divorces across the country, with many being finalized in under 60 days. Texas, on the other hand, has a mandatory 60-day waiting period. Technically, it is possible to be divorced in Texas in 61 days, but many couples do end up needing more than two months to get everything done.
Remember, your Dallas-Fort Worth divorce lawyer is also dependent on the court’s calendar to get your final hearing scheduled. This doesn’t usually add a big delay, but it does make 61 days exactly a bit of a long shot. In this article, we’ll discuss factors impacting the length of time it takes to get divorced in the Lone Star State.
Agreement on Issues
Probably the biggest thing that affects how long a Texas divorce takes is whether the couple can agree on all the necessary items: property division, child support, custody, alimony, etc. If these things can all be worked out during the 60-day waiting period, a fast divorce decree is likely. This required “cooling off” period begins the day the divorce petition is filed. Hiring a Ft. Worth divorce lawyer, filing online, or DIY’ing the divorce does not inherently make the process faster or slower.
Furthermore, you can no doubt imagine that “no-fault” divorces are faster than divorces in which proving fault is necessary. If you are looking to get divorced and show that your spouse is the reason for the dissolution, this can add extra months. Causes for at-fault divorces include if your spouse is committed to a mental hospital, convicted of a felony, abandons you, is cruel, commits adultery, and/or you two become separated. Remember, you can also resolve disputes via mediation as well if working things out alone is proving slow.
How to Get the Waiting Period Waived
Yes, it is possible in Texas to have the court waive the 60-day waiting period under three conditions:
- If there is an emergency protective order in effect due to domestic violence
- If a judge issues a deferred adjudication against your spouse for domestic violence
- If your spouse is convicted of domestic violence
Note that domestic violence here is an umbrella term referring to spousal and/or child abuse of any nature (physical, sexual, verbal, or emotional). The abuse qualifies under these rules if it is carried out against anyone living in the home, so even elder abuse, which includes financial abuse, could potentially qualify.
Reach Out to Our Ft. Worth Divorce Lawyers Now!
Let our Ft. Worth divorce attorneys handle your divorce as swiftly as possible. We have numerous compassionate, experienced lawyers on staff who can get started right away and devote time to your case. Let’s get started as soon as you are ready. Contact us to book your legal consultation now. Again, our skilled, dedicated team at Mims Ballew Hollingsworth is standing by to help you find a fresh start.